The Best Gelato in Italy

Gelato may be the #1 reason to visit Italy.  Right up there with the Colosseum and Michelangelo’s David.

Yes.  It’s that good.

I have yet to find anything comparable here in the States.  There are many places that claim to serve gelato.  Even some people that ‘lived in Italy’ and claim theirs is ‘as good as anything there’.

It’s not.  It never comes close.

When I’m in Italy, one of my favorite pastimes is trying out new gelaterias.  I read about other people’s favorites and check ratings on Google, but I’ve found I can’t always trust other people’s opinions.

Some articles led me to gelaterias that were a bit less than fantastic.  Some had a gimmick like serving over 100 different kinds or having some unique flavors, but that doesn’t always mean quality.

The best gelato has a perfectly smooth texture.  Not lumpy or icy.  Just creamy perfection.  My favorite is a good banana gelato (like the one in the picture), but those are hard to find.

I’ve spent enough time in Florence, Pisa, and Rome to try quite a few places.  Here’s my favorite and an honorable mention for each city.

 

Florence

La Carraia  Good sized portions.  Try the nocciola (hazelnut).

Edoardo  Fresh waffle cones made in-house.  Cannella e fior di latte (cinnamon and milk cream).

Pisa

De’ Coltelli  The kiwi was fantastic.

La Bottega Del Gelato  Fragola (strawberry).

Rome

Come il Latte  They were quick to give us lots of samples.  Everything was great.  Try the pistacchio di Sicilia (pistachio of Sicily).

Fatamorgana  Lots of interesting flavors like mela mandorla e cannella (apple almond and cinnamon).

2 thoughts on “The Best Gelato in Italy

Leave a comment